Friday, December 18, 2009

The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup


The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup will be the tenth Cricket World Cup, and will be hosted by three South Asian Test cricket playing countries; India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. It will be Bangladesh's first time co-hosting a Cricket World Cup. The World Cup will use cricket's One Day International format, with fourteen national cricket teams scheduled[1] to compete. The World Cup will take place during the months of February and March 2011, with the first match being played on 19 February 2011.[2]

The World Cup was also to be co-hosted by Pakistan, but in the wake of the 2009 attack on the Sri Lanka national cricket team in Lahore, the capital of the Pakistani province of Punjab, the International Cricket Council (ICC) were forced to strip Pakistan of its hosting rights.[3] The headquarters of the organising committee were originally situated in Lahore, but have now been shifted to Mumbai.[4] Pakistan was supposed to hold 14 matches, including one semi-final. [5] 8 of Pakistan's Matches have been awarded to India, 4 to Sri Lanka and 2 to Bangladesh.[6]


Click Here



Up-coming Sports Events

Live Cricket Score


Click Here