Wednesday, April 28, 2010

2010 ICC World Twenty20


2010 ICC World Twenty20

2010 ICC World Twenty20
2010 ICC World Twenty20 Logo.svg
Administrator(s)International Cricket Council
Cricket formatTwenty20 International
Tournament format(s)Group stage and Knockout
Host(s)West Indies Cricket Board West Indies
Official websiteOfficial website
← 2009 (Previous)(Next) 2012 →
The 2010 ICC World Twenty20 is an internationalTwenty20 cricket tournament which will be held in theWest Indies from 30 April to 16 May 2010.[1] Although the tournament is held every two years beginning in 2007, the scheduled ICC Champions Trophy one-day international tournament to be held in the West Indiesin 2010 has been revised to a Twenty20 format because the 2008 Champions Trophy tournament inPakistan was postponed due to security concerns and there was a need to correct the international cricketing tournament calendar.[1] This ICC World Twenty20 will be taking place only 10 months after the last one. As before, the tournament will feature 12 teams – the Test-playing nations and two qualifiers. Matches will be played at four grounds – Barbados,GuyanaSt.Lucia and St.Kitts & Nevis. The tournament will be organised in parallel with the women's tournament, with the men's semi-finals and final being preceded by the semi-finals and final from the women's event.

Rules and regulations

During the group stage and Super Eight, points are awarded to the teams as follows:
Win2 points
No Result1 point
Loss0 points
In case of a tie (i.e. both teams score exactly the same number of runs at the end of their respective innings), a super-over decides the winner. This is applicable in all stages of the tournament[2].
Within each group (both group stage and Super Eight stage), teams are ranked against each other based on the following criteria:[3]
  1. Higher number of points
  2. If equal, higher number of wins
  3. If still equal, higher net run rate
  4. If still equal, lower bowling strike rate
  5. If still equal, result of head to head meeting.


The groups were announced on 4 July 2009. The initial four group format is the same as that used at the 2009 tournament.
Group AGroup BGroup CGroup D
 Pakistan (1)
 Bangladesh (9)
 Australia (10)
 Sri Lanka (2)
 New Zealand (5)
 Zimbabwe (X)
 South Africa (3)
 India (7)
 Afghanistan (X)
 West Indies (4)
 England (6)
 Ireland (X)
  • Afghanistan and Ireland qualified via the 2010 ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier.
  • Zimbabwe withdrew from the 2009 competition, so failing to achieve a seed or ranking for the 2010 competition.
  • Ireland reached the Super Eight stage of the 2009 competition, and if a test nation, would have been ranked 8th; hence an 8th seed is missing from the competition



Group stage

30 AprilWest Indies v IrelandProvidence StadiumProvidence, Guyana

30 AprilNew Zealand v Sri LankaProvidence StadiumProvidence, Guyana

1 MayIndia v AfghanistanBeausejour StadiumGros IsletSt Lucia

1 MayBangladesh v PakistanBeausejour StadiumGros IsletSt Lucia

1 MayEngland v IrelandProvidence StadiumProvidence, Guyana

2 MayIndia v South AfricaBeausejour StadiumGros IsletSt Lucia

2 MayAustralia v PakistanBeausejour StadiumGros IsletSt Lucia

2 MayNew Zealand v ZimbabweProvidence StadiumProvidence, Guyana

3 MaySri Lanka v ZimbabweProvidence StadiumProvidence, Guyana

3 MayWest Indies v EnglandProvidence StadiumProvidence, Guyana

4 MaySouth Africa v AfghanistanKensington OvalBridgetown,Barbados

4 MayAustralia v BangladeshKensington OvalBridgetown,Barbados

Super 8s

The Super 8s consist of two groups, Group E and Group F. Group E will consist of A1, B2, C1, D2 and Group F will consist of A2, B1, C2, D1, where X1 is the first seed from Group X and X2 is the second seed from Group X. The seedings are based on performance in the last ICC T20 (2007). If a non-seeded team knocks out a seeded team, the non-seeded team inherits the seed of the team it knocked out.

6 May A1v D2Kensington OvalBridgetown,Barbados

6 May C1v B2Kensington OvalBridgetown,Barbados

7 May A2v C2Kensington OvalBridgetown,Barbados

7 May B1v D1Kensington OvalBridgetown,Barbados

8 May C1v D2Kensington OvalBridgetown,Barbados

8 May A1v B2Kensington OvalBridgetown,Barbados

9 May C2v D1Kensington OvalBridgetown,Barbados

9 May B1v A2Kensington OvalBridgetown,Barbados

10 May B2v D2Beausejour StadiumGros IsletSt Lucia

10 May A1v C1Beausejour StadiumGros IsletSt Lucia

11 May B1v C2Beausejour StadiumGros IsletSt Lucia

11 May D1v A2Beausejour StadiumGros IsletSt Lucia


13 May[To be determined]v[To be determined]Beausejour StadiumGros IsletSt Lucia

14 May[To be determined]v[To be determined]Beausejour StadiumGros IsletSt Lucia


16 May TBCv TBCKensington OvalBridgetown,Barbados

Media Coverage


 AfghanistanAriana Television Network Show only Afghan matches:
 AustraliaFox Sports[4]
 BangladeshBangladesh Television
 SingaporeStar Cricket
 West IndiesCaribbean Media Corporation
 CanadaAsian Television Network
 ChinaESPN Star Sports
 IndiaESPN Star SportsStar CricketMostly India matches: DD National
 JamaicaTelevision Jamaica
 Middle EastArab Radio and Television Network
 FijiFiji TV
 New ZealandSky Sport
 Pacific IslandsSky Pacific
 PakistanGEO SuperPakistan Television Corporation
 South AfricaSupersportSabc3 Sport
 Sri LankaSri Lanka Rupavahini Corporation
 United KingdomSky SportsBBC
 IrelandSky SportsBBC


 AustraliaABC Local Radio
 United KingdomBBC Radio
 IndiaAll India Radio
 West IndiesCaribbean Media Corporation
 BangladeshBangladesh Betar
 Central AmericaEchoStar
 IrelandBBC Radio
 PakistanHum FM
 United Arab EmiratesCool 94.7 FM


Click Here



Up-coming Sports Events

Live Cricket Score


Click Here