Saturday, February 27, 2010

2010 NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series season


2010 NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series season

2010 NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series season
League NHRA
Sport Drag racing
Champions TBA
NHRA seasons
← 2009

The 2010 NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Season is currently underway. A variety of new safety rules have been implemented following the conclusion of the investigation of the Scott Kalitta death in 2008. The NHRA had planned on returning Top Fuel and Funny Car classes to 0.250 mi (402 m) distances, racing will remain at 1,000 ft (300 m) distance to contain costs with the United States economy still in recession.


With the closure of the Memphis Motorsports Park as of 30 October 2009,[1] , the Full Throttle Series is now slated for 23 events[2]: The Virginia NHRA Nationals has also been eliminated, as Virginia Motorsports Park chose to align with rival Kenneth Feld's International Hot Rod Association instead (many tracks changed sanctioning, owing to their sportsman classes. A second race at zMax Dragway, the Four Wide Nationals, was added.
2010 NHRA Full Throttle Schedule
Date Race Site Winners
Top Fuel Funny Car Pro Stock Pro Stock Motorcycle
February 11-14 50th Kragen O'Reilly NHRA Winternationals Pomona, Calif. Larry Dixon John Force Mike Edwards N/A
February 19-22 Lucas Oil Slick Mist NHRA Nationals Chandler, Ariz. Cory McClenathan Jack Beckman N/A 1 N/A
March 11-14 Tire Kingdom Gatornationals Gainesville, Fla TBD TBD TBD (Fri-Sat)
TBD (Sunday)
March 25-28 Four Wide Nationals 2 Charlotte, NC TBD TBD TBD N/A
April 9-11 O'Reilly NHRA Spring Nationals Houston, Texas TBD TBD TBD TBD
April 16-18 NHRA Nationals Las Vegas, Nev. TBD TBD TBD N/A
April 30-May 2 O'Reilly NHRA Midwest Nationals Madison, Ill. TBD TBD TBD TBD
May 14-16 Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Southern Nationals Atlanta, Ga. TBD TBD TBD TBD
May 21–23 O'Reilly NHRA Summer Nationals Topeka, Kan. TBD TBD TBD N/A
June 3-6 United Association Route 66 NHRA Nationals Chicago, Ill. TBD TBD TBD TBD
June 10-13 United Association NHRA SuperNationals Englishtown, N.J. TBD TBD TBD TBD
June 18-20 NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals Bristol, Tenn. TBD TBD TBD N/A
June 24–27 Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Nationals Norwalk, Ohio TBD TBD TBD TBD
July 9-11 NHRA Northwest Nationals Seattle, Wash. TBD TBD TBD N/A
July 16-18 Fram Autolite NHRA Nationals Sonoma, Calif. TBD TBD TBD TBD
July 23-25 Mopar Mile-High NHRA Nationals Denver, Colo. TBD TBD TBD TBD
August 12-15 Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals Brainerd, Minn. TBD TBD TBD TBD
September 1-6 Mac Tools U.S. Nationals Indianapolis, Ind. TBD TBD TBD TBD
2010 Countdown to the Championship
September 16–19 NHRA Carolinas Nationals Concord, N.C. TBD TBD TBD TBD
September 23–26 O'Reilly Super Start Batteries NHRA Fall Nationals Dallas, Texas TBD TBD TBD TBD
October 7-10 Toyo Tires NHRA Nationals Reading, Pa. TBD TBD TBD TBD
October 28-31 NHRA Las Vegas Nationals Las Vegas, Nev. TBD TBD TBD TBD
November 11-14 Automobile Club of Southern California NHRA Finals Pomona, Calif. TBD TBD TBD TBD
1 The NHRA cancelled the Pro Stock races because of lane conditions for Pro Stock cars after one round of eliminations at the Lucas Oil Slick Mist Arizona Nationals.
The two-race format for the Tire Kingdom Gatornationals is in effect for the Pro Stock cars only with the following special rules.
Friday-Saturday race:
  • Only one round of qualifying will be conducted, the first Friday qualifying session.
  • The second round of qualifying will be replaced by the second round of eliminations for the eight first-round winners in Arizona.
    • The winners of the four pairings will receive 20 points for the round win.
    • Drivers who are not one of those eight drivers will run a standard second-round qualifying pass.
    • All times will count towards qualifying for the Sunday race.
    • The fastest time in the entire second session, regardless of it being an elimination round or a standard qualifying pass, receives three points for the fastest, two points for the second-fastest, and one point for the third-fastset time in this qualifying session.
  • The semifinals will be held Saturday morning for the four round winners from Friday, replacing their qualifying round pass. In those two races only, 20 points will be awarded for the round win. All times, regardless of qualifying or eliminations, count towards qualifying.
  • Drivers other than those four drivers in the semifinals will participate in a normal qualifying round.
  • The two winners of the semifinals will race for the Saturday championship, and the 20 bonus points. All other drivers will participate in fourth-round qualifying.
  • In Friday and Saturday eliminations, if a driver commits a red-light foul, and his opponent does not foul, the driver who commits the red light foul is eliminated; however, any time from that run will count towards Gatornationals qualifying (red lights do not disqualify a qualifying run; they only eliminate drivers during the race).
  • Both round and qualifying points will be contested.
  • The second-round qualifying pairings (with full NHRA points) will be:
    • Mike Edwards vs. Greg Anderson
    • Allen Johnson vs. Jason Line
    • Ron Krisher vs. Greg Stanfield
    • Bob Yonke vs. Rodger Brogdon
  • Times for the races will count towards the Sunday ladder.
2 The rules for the Four Wide Nationals differ from other races:
  • All cars will qualify on each lane as all four lanes will be used in qualifying.
  • Three rounds with cars using all four lanes.
  • In Rounds One and Two, the top two drivers (of four) will advance to the next round.
  • Drivers who advance in Rounds One and Two will receive 20 points for each round advancement.
  • In Round Three, the winner of the race will be declared the race winner and will collect 40 points. The runner-up will receive 20 points. Third and fourth place drivers will be credited as semifinal losers.

Notable events

After 47 years as a driver and owner, Don Prudhomme announced his retirement from the series.[3]
Funny car driver Mike Neff stepped down as driver to become co-crew chief for John Force, the other crew chief is Austin Coil.
In the first round at Arizona, Antron Brown lost a wheel and crashed into the wall. The wheel struck a female spectator who was killed. Brown was uninjured in the accident. Because of weather conditions, the Pro Stock event at the same meet was cancelled after one round. The eight first-round winners will compete as part of second-round qualifying at the next round.[4]


Click Here



Up-coming Sports Events

Blog Archive

Live Cricket Score


Click Here